Skip to main content
The opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed are those of the Center author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

Center Overview

The Center for Unmanned Aircraft Systems (C-UAS) researchers investigate technical challenges that limit the use of unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) in military, civil, and commercial applications. The Center’s mission is to provide innovative solutions to key technical challenges and superb training for future leaders in the UAS industry.

C-UAS develops new algorithms, architectures, and operational procedures for unmanned aircraft systems. Its main objectives are to:

  • Work with industry partners to define and solve problems of primary importance to the UAS industry.
  • Provide students with the world-class, cross-disciplinary training that will allow them to become the next generation of technical leaders in the UAS field.
  • Develop knowledge and intellectual property that will help industry members maintain their competitiveness in the global economy.

Universities

  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Texas A&M University
  • University of Michigan
  • Brigham Young University
View Center Website

Center Personnel

Janelle Forsgren
Administration Staff
(801) 422-7441
cuas.nsf@gmail.com

Brad Whitby
Managing Director
(801) 422-7002
whitby@byu.edu

Randy Beard
Center Director
(801) 422-8392
beard@byu.edu

Timothy McLain

8014223360
mclain@byu.edu

Eric Frew

3034926221
eric.frew@colorado.edu

John Valasek

9798626777
valasek@tamu.edu

Craig Woolsey

5402315281
cwoolsey@vt.edu

Ella Atkins

7347636438
ematkins@umich.edu

Research Focus

C-UAS contributes to the advancement of the UAS community through research in five main areas:

  • Advanced autonomous capabilities for UAS.
  • Human and technology interfaces for UAS.
  • Multiagent cooperative control of UAS.
  • UAS-based communication networks.
  • UAS integration into the National Airspace System.