Skip to main content
The opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed are those of the Center author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

Center Overview

The Center for Advanced Forestry Systems (CAFS) brings together industry and agency scientists with practitioners and university scientists from across the country to take interdisciplinary approaches to solving problems facing our nation’s planted and natural forests. Its mission is to help create a future with sustainable, healthy forests that provide an economic foundation for many communities and industries, and that offer numerous environmental services.

CAFS seeks to optimize genetic and cultural management regimes to produce high-quality raw forest materials for new and existing products. To do so, CAFS convenes scientists from different disciplines who define and conduct collaborative research on specific and compelling issues relevant to industry that transcend species, regions, and disciplinary boundaries.

Universities

  • University of Washington
  • University of Idaho
  • University of Maine
  • North Carolina State University
  • Oregon State University
  • Purdue University
  • University of Georgia
View Center Website

Center Personnel

Aaron Weiskittel
Professor/Director
2075812857
aaron.weiskittel@maine.edu

Douglass Jacobs
Site Director
7654941055
djacobs@purdue.edu

Eric Turnblom
Site Director
2065434043
ect@u.washington.edu

Jeff Hatten
Site Director
5417374933
jeff.hatten@oregonstate.edu

Mark Coleman
Site Director
2088856651
mcoleman@uidaho.edu

Rachel Cook
Site Director
9195152444
rlcook@ncsu.edu

Cristian Montes
Site Director
(706) 542-2686
crmontes@uga.edu

Meg Fergusson
Program Coordinator
(207) 581-3794
margaret.fergusson@maine.edu

Research Focus

CAFS’ research is in four primary areas:

  • Decision-support tools.
  • Forest genetics.
  • Forest management.
  • Remote sensing.